top of page

TBD for Short Film Scripts and Short Stories

The Grand Prize Winner of each Short Film Script Competition will see their story produced as a short film.
The Top 15 to 20 Winners of the Short Stories Competition will be published in an Annual Winners' Anthology 


Proceed to the new NCWA page for details and entry information -------> 

A list of past NCWA winners can be found here -------->


Past Winners

Founded by Jason J. Marchi and Mike Timm, the New Century Writer Awards (NCWA) operated between 1997 and 2003. During that time the contest awarded over $65,000 in cash and helped boost the careers of nearly 200 deserving writers.


The contest was the first to recognize the early writing talents of Joe Hill, when he won the grand prize award in the blind-judged 2002 NCWA contest for short fiction and was awarded the NCWA/Ray Bradbury Short Story Scholarship. Mr. Hill received an all-expenses paid trip to attend the Zoetrope Short Story Writers Workskop at Blancaneaux Lodged in Belize. Hill then went on to develop his craft and earn his way onto the New York Times bestseller list and see his books turned into films.


The NCWA also worked in association and/or partnership with the following companies or producers to whom we presented our top writers: Francis Ford Coppola's Zoetrope:All-Story, The Steve Tisch Company (Forest Gump), Fox Searchlight, Jeremy Kleiner (Donners' Company), Brad Luff (Urban Legend, The Deep), Brad Southwick (Children of the Corn), and Alicia Weston (Trigger Street Productions), among several others.

bottom of page